Five cheap foods to avoid

More Americans are turning to fast food and other processed foods in an attempt to save money. According to Savvysugar.com, while these foods may be good for your wallet, they aren’t as kind to your health.

The five foods they list are:

  1. Spam
  2. Instant noodles
  3. Fast food
  4. Pop Tarts
  5. TV dinners

While each of these may be cheaper (and faster) than a home-cooked meal, they contain processed ingredients, preservatives, and other unnatural substances.

I’m guilty of eating fast food (occasionally when on the go) and TV dinners (most days for lunch at work.) When eating fast food, I try to pair a less healthy option like a sandwich with a more healthy option like salad. And when eating frozen meals, I limit my choices to those with reasonable calorie and sodium numbers.

This list is by no means exhaustive. There are many other artificial foods out there clamoring for your dollar. Eating these types of foods in moderation isn’t bad for you – it’s when they constitute the majority of your diet that problems arise. Towards the end of last year I noticed that I wasn’t eating enough fruits and vegetables, so I made a resolution to include these in my diet as often as possible. Now, when I’m at the grocery store, I tend to buy whatever fruit is on sale that day and eat it over the following week. I’ve had mixed success with this goal over the past year.

With some effort, you can find reasonable choices that are good for your wallet and won’t harm your health.

What do you think?

