What I’m thankful for

This Thanksgiving Day I thought it would be appropriate to step away from discussing ways to save money and instead focus on what I’m thankful for in my life.

Each day I try to keep a grateful attitude for what I have and what I’ve been given. Being grateful can be difficult sometimes because it takes a lot of patience and a lot of self control. While I’ve made great strides recently in controlling my wants and desires, I admit I’m not the most patient guy out there. I believe it takes patience to be thankful because you can’t always have what you want, when you want it. Patience with yourself helps you keep a long-term perspective and keeps you from being too hard on yourself when you fail. Patience with others helps you look past their shortcomings and helps you appreciate everything that is done for you, no matter how small.

Here are a few of the things I’m thankful for:

I’m thankful to live in a country that allows me to express my thoughts and opinions without fear of repression.

I’m thankful for this beautiful planet we live on.

I’m thankful for my wife, who loves me unconditionally, and for our bright future together.

I’m thankful for my parents who raised me to be kind, to look out for the well-being of others, and to do the right thing. I’m also thankful for my wife’s parents, who treat me like their son.

I’m thankful for my sisters, who allow me to be their big brother, and for their unique personalities.

I’m thankful for my passion for learning and all the opportunities it opens up.

I’m thankful for travel, which opens my eyes and my mind.

I’m thankful to belong to a church that sets me in the right direction spiritually and always makes me a better person.

I’m thankful to be able to serve others, and for their service to me.

I’m thankful to God, who loves each one of us individually, and for Jesus Christ, our savior.

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “What I’m thankful for

  1. And I am thankful for folks like you who take the time out from their busy schedules to make life better for the rest of us through informational and educational blogs such as this.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. vow that was wonderfully expressed and I do feel grateful to have family who are there for you in good times and bad. Happy Thanksgiving to all!

What do you think?

